Skip to content

Call for Nominations: Hermann Boeschenstein Medal

The CAUTG is pleased to invite Nominations for the Hermann Boeschenstein Medal for Exceptional Contributions to German Studies in Canada. The medal is awarded occasionally, and not necessarily every year, at the discretion of a Selection Committee appointed by the CAUTG Executive, traditionally comprised of the Past President as Chair, the current President and Secretary of the CAUTG and two other members (preferably including one previous recipient of the medal). The medal is inscribed “Hermann Boeschenstein (1900-1982): Teacher, Scholar, Humanitarian.” It is awarded to a person at a Canadian university, who has regularly made exceptional contributions, in the humanitarian spirit of Hermann Boeschenstein, to the welfare of our Association and to the advancement of research and teaching in the field of German language, literature, culture, and media in Canada. Nominations to be considered in the current year, should reach the Chair of the Committee, Dr. John L. Plews (, by February 25, 2019, and should be accompanied by supporting documentation as outlined below. The Selection Committee will consider all nominations and report its decision to the CAUTG Executive. In the event of a successful nomination, the award winner shall be announced and honoured at the annual meeting of the CAUTG, to be held at Congress 2020, in London, Ontario, May 30 – June 5, 2020. 

Supporting Documentation: 

Please provide in one pdf-file the following documents – without informing the candidate of your intended nomination

  • Detailed Letter of Nomination by the principal nominator, who must be a faculty member at a Canadian institution and member of the CAUTG. The letter should describe the nominee’s contributions as a teacher, scholar, and humanitarian. 
  • Nominee’s current CV, including publications record (to be obtained from the departmental homepage or nominee’s department administration – not from the candidate). 
  • Any records indicating the nominee’s teaching effectiveness and educational leadership (which may include brief testimonials from former undergraduate and graduate students). 
  • Letters of Support – a minimum of one (1) and a maximum of three (3) from any of the following (individual or jointly signed letters accepted):  
    Faculty colleagues; alumni; emeriti. 

Dr. John L. Plews, Saint Mary’s University (
Past President of the CAUTG and Chair of the Boeschenstein Medal Selection Committee 

PDF Call for Nominations Boeschenstein

Back To Top