Skip to content

Call for Nominations: Innovate German Award 2016/17

The Canadian Association of University Teachers of German (CAUTG) and the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) are pleased to announce the Call for Nominations for the new Innovate German Award 2016/17. We invite nominations and self-nominations for the best course materials in the field of German Studies at Canadian universities and colleges.

The award focuses on new courses, curriculum and program development, and the implementation of new teaching and learning approaches. This could include classroom-based courses, immersion or study abroad / field schools, distance courses, online and/or blended courses, the flipped classroom approach, or new programming or curricula, at the undergraduate or the graduate level. The content can include all aspects of German Studies (language, literature, film, drama, media studies, history, political science, business, etc.).

The award includes a prize of $1,000 as well as registration and a travel & accommodation bursary to attend the next Annual Meeting of the CAUTG at Ryerson University in Toronto, Ontario. The 2016/17 Innovate German Award winner will have the opportunity to present the winning course materials at the annual conference and will be invited to submit a report or digital presentation to Forum Deutsch. The 2016/17 award winner will be announced before the end of January 2017.

The award committee is looking for course materials that show innovative and engaging ways of presenting course-related materials (e.g., modules, student projects). These materials must have been applied in syllabuses in the 2014/15 or 2015/16 academic years. Nominations must also include a one-page statement explaining why the materials should be considered for this award.

Members of any department can submit materials for consideration, as long as the content of the materials is related to German Studies. We accept self-nominations as well as nominations of a colleague’s course(s) or site(s). The award committee will require access to all relevant pages. All material will be treated confidentially.

The award committee consists of the CAUTG Vice-President (Chair), one other CAUTG executive member, and one past winner of the GO-Award.

Nomination deadline: January 5, 2017.

Please send your nominations to Dr. Barbara Schmenk,

Call for Nominations in French and as PDF here.

Back To Top